The Internet is a network that never rests and where the security and privacy of users are most threatened. One way to check them is the “I'm not a robot” option. Therefore, many people were surprised by what is actually hidden behind the boxes we have ticked endlessly.
If you are an Internet user, it must have happened to you that when you enter certain web pages, you are greeted by a security check in which you must confirm that you are "not a robot".
Often accompanied by squares in which you have to take pictures of traffic lights, pedestrian crossings, tractors and similar objects, it has become an integral part of our exploitation.
Although most people try to complete the task at hand as quickly as possible, few people have thought about what is behind this option.
This was explained in a 2020 episode of QI, where host Sandi Toksvig revealed what it was all about. A video has now surfaced on TikTok and many users were amazed by what they discovered.
“It's not about checking that box. The real thing is how you behave before you check it," explained Sandi.
“To be honest, I can't reveal all the details, but in short, check the box and that website will check your browsing history. For example, before checking the box, you watched some cat videos, you liked a tweet about Greta Thunberg, you checked your Gmail - all this makes them think that there is a person behind the screen. Basically, when you check 'I'm not a robot', you're driving the page to see your information and decide for yourself what it's about. If the computer is not sure, then it directs you to click on pictures of fire hydrants," he says.
In conclusion, the “I'm not a robot” option is actually a disguised consent to give a certain website to steal your browsing history.
The video became a hot topic again after it was the subject of Australian radio hosts Fitzy and Wipp, and many were shocked by what they had the chance to hear.
Users expressed disbelief at this knowledge, wondering if it was true or not, many concluding that such a thing "acts illegally".
“Wait, what? How did I not know this", wrote one user.
"This is the first time I have heard of this. I did some research and unfortunately it appears to be true," added another.
"This is a total invasion of privacy," one concluded.
The video gathered over 3 million views in a short time.
@fitzyandwippa Did you know this? ???????????? #fitzyandwippa ♬ original sound - Fitzy & Wippa